Poutine – the best thing to ever come from Canada

My new favorite word: Poutine.

Poutine originated under dubious circumstances somewhere in Quebec, Canada in the 1950’s. The base is French fries, covered with fresh cheese curd and gravy.

And it’s amazing. Even though I live pretty close to Canada, I hadn’t heard of this before this summer when I stopped by a Skillet Food Truck while visiting downtown Seattle. Skillet serves fantastic, American-style food prepared with classic techniques from Airsteam trailers. Their Bacon Jam is pretty much the greatest food ever.

After three different Thanksgiving dinners, I ended up with a few extra pounds of Yukon gold potatoes. Taking golds are great for roasted or mashed potatoes, but are not generally used at all with frying. That territory remains pretty strictly to russet potatoes. I did some google searches and found this method called cold frying, which I had never heard of.

I started by pouring a quart and a half of canola oil in a pan, then cutting my fries into 1/4 inch cuts as shown on the blog linked above. I added them to the oil as I cut, and stopped after 3 large potatoes. I probably could have done 4 easily in the pan, but Big Guy wasn’t home.

I jacked up the heat to high and waited. Within just a couple minutes I had bubbles, and soon after everything was boiling. Once a few fries had floated to the top I went ahead and stirred then up using some tongs. I watched them carefully over the next few minutes and once they were golden brown I used a slotted spoon to move them to a cookie sheet lined with paper towels. As soon as I had them all out of the oil, I poured the fries (still very hot) into a large mixing bowl and tossed them with salt and fresh dill, then poured them back onto the cookie sheet.

You can easily stop here and just eat them plain or with your favorite burger. They are delicious and crispy and fluffy inside, just like a great French fry should be.

While the fries were cooking I had made gravy using butter and flour to make a roux, which I cooked over medium heat stirring constantly with a whisk under it was the color or milk chocolate. I added in 2 cups of beef broth (still whisking until combined completely) and brought to a boil and allowed to simmer until thickened, and seasoned with salt and a hearty dose of cracked pepper.

I did cheat a little. Instead of fresh cheese curd, I used a bit of cheddar cheese. The end result was still great and didn’t require me to make cheese on top of already making fries and gravy.

I loved my Poutine, and both kids gobbled up their servings. The cold fry method worked great for me, and didn’t require the constant attention I used to spending when frying things. I will certainly use it again soon!

20121201-135653.jpg

20121201-135711.jpg

French Fries
recipe courtesy of Hungry Mouse

• 4 large Yukon gold potatoes
• 6 cups canola oil
• salt and seasonings

Pour oil into cold, large heavy bottom pan. Slice potatoes into 1/4 inch fries, discarding small pieces. Add cut fries to oil, and turn heat to high. Once oil is boiling and several fries have floated to the top, use tongs to stir the pot, being sure to unstudied any from the bottom. Continue boiling in oil under golden brown. Remove to lined pan briefly to drain then while still hot toss in a large mixing bowl with salt and any herbs or seasonings.

Serve immediately with gravy or dipping sauce.

Brown Gravy

• 2 tbsp butter
• 2 tbsp flour
• 2 cups of beef broth

Melt butter, whisk in flour. Cooked over medium heat, whisking often until medium brown in color. Add in 2 cups broth slowly, whisking until completely combined. Bring to boil, then simmer until thickened. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Leave a comment